Knowledge for Development

Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat


Date: 14/12/2004


The Pacific Islands Forum is a political grouping of 16 independent and self-governing states. Members include Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Marshal Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu, New Caledonia and French Polynesia. The Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat is based in Suva, Fiji. The Secretariat’s mandate is to coordinate the implementation of the Pacific Plan for strengthening regional cooperation and integration.